Early 19th-century plantation, joined in 1890 with Felicity Plantation to form the St. Joseph Plantation & Manufacturing Company. Privately owned.
St. Joseph Plantation is a historic plantation located on the west bank of the Mississippi River in the town of Vacherie, St. James Parish, Louisiana, United States of America. It is listed on the National Register of Historic Places.
St. Joseph Plantation is located at 3535 Hwy 18 Vacherie, LA 70090, adjacent to Oak Alley Plantation and up-river from Laura Plantation. The plantation was first owned by Josephine Aime Ferry in 1830, but the Ferry family sold it to Joseph Waguespack (1802-1892) in 1877 (Waguespack's son, Aubert Florian, owned Laura Plantation). In 1890 Saturnine Waguespack merged St. Joseph Plantation with Felicity Plantation to form the St. Joseph Plantation and Manufacturing Company. It is today maintained by descendants of the Waguespack and Simon families.
This Creole Plantation has been owned by the same family for the last 130 years and is still a working sugar cane plantation to this day. It was originally built in 1830 by the Scioneaux family and Francois Gabriel 'Valcour' Aime purchased this plantation as a wedding gift for his daughter Josephine. Original buildings (dependencies) still exist on propery such as the kitchen, blacksmith shop, and slave cabins. Tour includes Francois Gabriel 'Valcour' Aime family history and includes an interesting film of how sugar cane is harvested and manufactured. The St. Joseph Plantation Store was open until 1990's- and was the last remaining plantation store on River Road. Unique gift shop. Tours daily.